i'm with the brand


This is me after Veckatimest: or, Grizzly Bieber girl
April 1, 2010, 10:35 am
Filed under: Music | Tags:

omg chamber pop

Sometimes I have to take self-imposed hiatuses from listening to certain things, usually because they’re so unfathomably good that they make my heart hurt, and I recognize it’s unhealthy to only listen to one thing over and over for months at a time, especially when it puts you into some absurd aesthetic-emotional funk you struggle vainly to articulate. (See also: Radiohead.)

Most recently, this applied to Grizzly Bear’s 2009 release, Veckatimest, which I feel certain is going to go down in history as a modern classic. It’s exquisite, painstakingly crafted, and to be honest, near-impossible to do justice. (Seriously. “Ready, Able” is devastating. Ed Droste’s voice is so liltingly moving it’s unfair–like a┬áthin, fine fabric whipped taut by some┬áplane-parallel wind, buzzing subtly with some near-imperceptible tremor. I. Can’t. Deal.)

So what happens when I finally listen to Veckatimest last week, after a couple months of a no-Grizz diet? This, basically:

I, wish, (sob sob) Grizzly Bear, (aaaaah) was in (hic) my (hic) faaaaamilyyyyy.